Country name: Internationally: Japan, local: Nihon / Nippon,

Capital: Tokyo

National holiday: Birthday of HIH Emperor AKIHITO, 23 December (1933)

Independence: 660 B.C. (traditional founding by Emperor JIMMU)

Total area: 377,835 sq km (incl. water area 3,091 sq km)

Japanese Government

Government type: Constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary government

Chief of state: HIH Emperor AKIHITO (since 7 January 1989)

Head of government: Prime Minister Yoshihiko NODA (since 29 August 2011)

Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the prime minister

Elections: Diet (Kokkai), the national parliament of Japan, designates prime minister; constitution requires that prime minister commands parliamentary majority; following legislative elections, leader of majority party or leader of majority coalition in House of Representatives usually becomes prime minister; monarch is hereditary.


Language: Japanese

Population: 127,177,597 (July 2018)

Life expectancy at birth: Male: 79 years , Female: 86 years

Suffrage: 20 years


Shinto and Buddhist 84%
Other 15,3%
Christian 0.7%


Japan has 426 islands that are inhabited and 6,852 islands in total.

The four major islands of the Japanese archipelago are:
Honshu (230.000 sq. km) – the main island with the capital Tokyo
Hokkaido (78.500 sq. km) –situated north of Honshu
Kyushu (44.000 sq. km) – situated at the south western tip of Honshu
Shikoku (18.800 sq. km) – situated south of Honshu, east of Kyushu